Love the Little Things #8

Hello there Friday, lovely to have you again. The week has been a mixture of slight ups and downs (undulations, you might say, not quite peaks and troughs), but Joy prevails, always πŸ™‚ (helped along by the brie and crackers I just snacked on…)

What have we (I say we, I really mean ‘I’) loved this week? On with the show…

Read

A wonderful advent book called The Dawning of Indestructible Joy by John Piper that I downloaded for free from a blog that I follow. There’s a little commentary each day with a Bible passage, some of the titles so far have been “The Search-and-Save Mission”, “He Comes to Bless Us” and “The Celebration of God’s Love” (just to give you an idea of what it’s about). I’m really enjoying it: each devotion is short and concise but so much is still packed in. I’ve been reminded of so much that passes me by, I can imagine reading this becoming an annual tradition!

Screenshot_2014-12-13-00-43-05

Notice the time on that screenshot…yes, I am still awake at this time.

Watched

Too many rehearsals of our Christmas play! We did 3 in one day (the poor kids), but it’ll all be over on Monday with two performances, morning and afternoon. We did our scenery after school on Wednesday – one of the teachers did graphic design and fine art, so she can really visualise this stuff and make it happen – it looks pretty good!

20141210_162310

Apologies for the blurry picture. Here is a close-up of my creative contribution…

20141210_162833

Wore

These cosy PJs πŸ™‚ we had a Christmas Jumper Day at school today for Save the Children, so I had planned on wearing the fleecy top (I got them especially from Primark), but I’ve grown a bit attached to them so didn’t want to risk ruining the lovely cream top.

2014-12-12 17.37.39

The trousers are super cosy and I just love the snowflake pattern…all wintry and snuggly πŸ™‚

20141212_173623

Heard

Lots of the kids telling me that they love me…which is very sweet of them πŸ™‚

Made

A fair bit, our Christmas craft is truly ON. I’ve done bath bombs, all packaged and good to go…

20141213_002907

…a movie night box…

[erm…I forgot to take a photo before wrapping it up! Oops]

…sugar cookie dough (being baked and decorated tonight) – update: have been baked and decorated, hence finishing this at 1am…

20141212_194651

20141212_223048

20141213_000752

…and we did these mugs at the weekend. I love ceramic painting but am never that creative, so it was lovely to be with the Mr who is far more artistically inclined than myself. I just did what I was told for the most part πŸ™‚

[Also forgot to take a photo of them before wrapping them. Should definitely start writing more detailed lists of my life]

And lastly…

We had a bring and share food time on Wednesday with friends from church, and there was quite a spread…

20141210_203037Food and chatting with friends πŸ™‚ Love it.

Linking up with But Why Mummy Why, sharing the love of little things πŸ™‚

4 thoughts on “Love the Little Things #8

    1. Alice W Post author

      All the creative streak seems to have gone…maybe it’ll pick up again soon..? Aww lovely, I hope you enjoy it as much as I have πŸ™‚ xx

      Reply

Leave a Reply

