#LittleLoves

Another week has rolled by, life is back to something resembling normal, and Friday’s here again, so it’s time to think over some of my #littleloves from the week. As a week it’s been ok, looking forward to an early night and a fun day with our nephews and niece tomorrow (looking forward to/slightly terrified about the fact that we’ll be responsible for 3 children for 24 hours!). So, what have been the little bits of life that have made life better?

Read

I’m well stuck into Lord of the Rings, about 6 or 7 chapters in, and enjoying the story. So far Bilbo has left, Frodo has set off on his journey with Merry, Pippin and Sam, and we’ve met an interesting character called Tom Bombadil in the Old Forest. I love how Tolkein writes; it’s as though you’re reading all his notes, not just the story but all the background info too. Not to everyone’s taste I know, but I’m enjoying it πŸ™‚

image

Watched

A few bits on TV – a programme about puppies winning first prize asΒ the cutest…learnt some interesting tips for dealing with our family dogs, but I fear their bad habits are too ingrained in them!

image

I’m aware that this photo is coming up MASSIVE…somewhere between doing most of the draft on my Kindle and finishing it on the laptop, I can’t change the size to something more normal…you’ll just have to enjoy a huge dollop of cuteness from this little pup πŸ™‚

Wore

Back to boring old work clothes..boo, I miss my jeans! But we’re all about being positive, so…I LOVED borrowing my mum’s Jack Wolfskin duvet jacket last night to walk the dog. I genuinely felt like I was snuggled in a duvet..maybe add it to my birthday list? (Upon Googling it and seeing the price – maybe not!)

Heard

In amongst all the whiny children telling tales all day long, there are many moments of lovely things that they say. One of the boys in my class in Polish and after he finished his lunch the other day, he said to me,
“That was delicious!”
It made me smile to hear him use that word for some reason, like I find it hard not to laugh when he tells me during maths,
“Me no like this game.” Hehe kids.

Made

Some knittage! I’m well on my way to Blanket Land, finishing it in January is my goal.

image

And lastly…

I had a really lovely meal with my friends last night. It was so great to catch up and just hang out. We left school over 5 years ago now, and I’ve found that since we left I appreciate them more than ever. We’re hoping to have a holiday together this summer – it’s pretty rare for all 7 of us to be in one place for one evening, so a whole week will quite something!

IMG-20140926-WA0000

One take out of many!

 

Linking up with But Why Mummy Why, sharing love of the little things πŸ™‚

14 thoughts on “#LittleLoves

  1. Louisa

    I have read the Hobbit a few times but don’t think I ever finished Lord of the Rings. Sometimes I find Tolkien a bit too waffley and off on too many tangents. Your knitting is great. I can’t seem to coordinate my needles! #littleloves

    Reply
    1. Alice W Post author

      He is indeed a waffler, and there are many many tangents..I’m a bit of a skim reader so I tend to skip paragraphs..trying to read it as properly as I can though :p aww thank you, I’m really enjoying it..not onto colour 3 yet, only done a few rows this weekend. Hope you had a great weekend! Xx

      Reply
  2. Helen

    Your blanket is looking fabulous and great that you managed to get a night out with your friends!! Hope you manage to go on your holiday!

    Reply
    1. Alice W Post author

      Thank you! One of the group is a real organiser, so if we all pitch in and help it should happen. Also, who doesn’t love a bit of holiday research? A cottage in Cornwall if all else fails! Xx

      Reply
  3. Not A Frumpy Mum

    Love the photo at the end, as you get older it’s so hard to get everyone all together isn’t it?
    Super cute puppy pic! xx

    Reply
    1. Alice W Post author

      I know, and I can imagine that once kids are thrown into the mix it’ll be even harder! Thanks, that’s my Mum’s pup Alfie (I say pup, he’s 6!)..the baby of the family πŸ™‚ xx

      Reply
    1. Alice W Post author

      Aww merci ClΓ©mentine πŸ™‚ Hopefully it’ll be finished before too long..! Thank you for the post on your blog on Friday, I hope you’re doing ok xx

      Reply
  4. anotherbun1

    I really wish I could knit – my mum is a fabulous knitter but none of her talents seem to have rubbed off on me unfortunately!

    Reply
    1. Alice W Post author

      So’s my Nana! Once you learn the stitches it seems to be relatively easy..at least this blanket is, obviously there are far more complicated things you can do. I recommend giving it a go, get your Mum to teach you πŸ™‚ xx

      Reply
  5. butwhymummywhy

    I can’t handle Tolkein but my husband is a massive fan and is looking forward to reading The Hobbit with our oldest once they’ve finished Harry Potter.
    Love that pic at the end of your post. It’s great fun getting together with old friends isn’t it?
    Have a lovely week xx

    Reply
    1. Alice W Post author

      He’s pretty intense..the Hobbit’s good though, I didn’t realise it was supposed to be a child’s book..! I hope they enjoy it πŸ™‚ although Harry Potter, can you beat him at that age? Hope you have a great week! Xx

      Reply
  6. mydaysni

    I tried to knit a scarf once, but got totally bored and turned it into a table mat – I was about 15, but I doubt much has changed! A girly night out looks fab – and a holiday – now that is something to look forward to! Hope you are having a great week x

    Reply
    1. Alice W Post author

      Ooh tablemats, there’s an idea! It was so much fun to hang out, and hopefully the holiday will take shape soon…need to start researching some destinations πŸ™‚ hope your week’s going well too xx

      Reply

Leave a Reply

