Homemade Hummus

Hummus or houmus? Or the Arabic – حمص [I’m interested to see how that comes out when published…!]. Anyway.

I found this recipe in my Hairy Dieters cookbook, it’s down as a good snack. Boy is it a good snack. I’ve wanted to make hummus for years, I think I’ve always been nervous of tackling it since tasting proper hummus in Lebanon – my Mr’s home country, so a bit of a big deal. When I saw a roasted pepper hummus in Si and Dave’s book, I was determined to try it – one step in the right direction.

First things first, put the peppers under the grill (deseeded and destalked). High temperature, skin up.

DSC_0002

Charring away. Next, soften the onions with cumin and coriander. They really made me tear up!

DSC_0001Once they’re done, take them off the heat to cool. Get the peppers out and let them cool so you can handle them. Knit a row or two in the meantime.

When the peppers are cool, peel the skin off.

DSC_0003_2

Put onions in the blender, tear the pepper into chunks and throw it in, then add chickpeas (drained and rinsed), lemon zest and salt (and garlic, but we had none in). Blitz it up!

DSC_0005_2

Magimix, my new best friend! I’ve used it more in the last week than in the whole…year (?) that we’ve had it. Smoothies for breakfast – which, amazingly, actually kept me going til lunchtime – me, the constant feed-me-every-2-hours craver. Wonderful 🙂

You have to keep using a spatula to make sure it all gets sliced, but you can make it as smooth/chunky as you like. I went for as smooth as possible. Spoon it into a rather sweet little bowl, eat with your choice of dipping veg.

DSC_0007

Healthy snack, check. Let’s just ignore the chocolate and shortbread that I ate beforehand.

2 thoughts on “Homemade Hummus

Leave a Reply

