#LittleLoves

So that week happened.Β It was one of Those Weeks. Nothing particularly terrible happened, but I was rubbish in all ways – shouting at the kids too much, losing my temper, criticising my hubby for everything (when he is, in fact, really quite amazing), eating too much food (well, too many cookies), being pants at my job…that kind of week. But the weekend is here now, and there was much loveliness in amongst all the bleurgh I’m sure πŸ™‚ so here goes.

Read

Lord of the Rings (AGAIN) – onto Book Five, so into The Return of the King, 62% of the way through…Not too bad.

I also read this article. I found it a while ago but kept forgetting to mention it here. It really hit me and made me think about how blessed I am to have my husband here with me, nearly all the time. We’re both healthy, so let’s make the most of our lives together.

Watched

Hmm…we watched Maleficent with friends on Saturday – love that film πŸ™‚

Anyone else out there seen the lip syncing on Jimmy Fallon? Saw this one pop up on my Facebook feed, Will Ferrell + Kevin Hart = hilarious.

Wore

As ever, nothing exciting to share here. Except that my Tigger onesie made an appearance again, as did my coral trousers. Not together, I hasten to add!

Heard

Children reading! As part of the reshuffle of life in FS2 (reception, 4-5 year olds)Β at work, me and the other TA now do all the guided reading, so once (sometimes twice) a day, we each take a small group of kids to go and read together. Sometimes manic, nearly always frustrating, occasionally rewarding. In the long term though, I must remind myself that it is so good for them, especially the ones that never read at home. As Dr Seuss says,

“The more you read, the more things you will know. The more that you learn, the more places you’ll go.”

Also been listening to this song, mostly on the radio (Hallam FM is amazing)..my brother-in-law and wife love Taylor, every time I hear this song I can just hear him saying (not singing), “I can make the bad guys good for a weekend.” Had-to-be-there moment, but so great πŸ™‚

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=e-ORhEE9VVg – Cannot figure out why this link won’t show up with the video? So much about this blogging malarky that I need to learn!

Made

Cookies! No pics sadly (realising that this is a picture-less post! [Quickly goes and finds the camera/grabs the phone]).

DSC_0227

I didn’t get any photos of the finished product, but clementine and white chocolate go VERY well together. Recipe here πŸ™‚

Also in the process of making Butternut Squash Tortellini for tea (intriguing – anyone got any ideas what to do with a whole chunk of polenta?!)…

20150206_192414

Looks gross, will hopefully taste good..

And lastly…

I was babysitting last night and loved having this cutie pie to keep me company…

20150205_233450There was a moment where IΒ really needed the loo, but he was so warm and settled on my knee, I just couldn’t bear the thought of getting up…! I did in the end, and he waiting by the sofa til I came back, then hopped right back on for more cuddles πŸ™‚

20150205_232928So, even during possibly the worst week at work that I’ve had since starting my job, there is still so much loveliness.

Linking up with But Why Mummy Why,Β sharing the love of little things πŸ™‚

littleloves

4 thoughts on “#LittleLoves

  1. butwhymummywhy

    I love that Dr Seuss quote – it’s so true and something I often tell my eldest. Both the cookies and the tortellini sound yum. I must try harder with my makes for next time.
    Have a lovely week! xx

    Reply
    1. Alice W Post author

      He’s great isn’t he, we’re doing rhyming at school this week, could definitely do with using some Dr Seuss! Hope you have a lovely week too xx

      Reply
  2. ravacholle

    Ohhh Sorry you had such a bad week! Never even heard of a white chocolate clementine cookie! So they tasted good?? I bookmarked the recipe, should definitely try it then! Have a better week than last week πŸ˜‰

    Reply

Leave a Reply

