A to Z authors – A

I love a good read, so when I saw this project over at Clarina’s Contemplations, I was very intrigued. At the time I was reading Lord of the Rings, after which I took a bit of a break from reading. After a few weeks off, I was ready to jump into #atozauthors. Upon perusal of the bookshelf, I went for an old classic as my ‘A’, one of my absolute favourite books. As a pretty fast reader, I’ve finished it in a week and loved every minute of it…like genuinely looking forward to getting into bed and having a read.

IMG_20150305_161003

Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen

Any other fans out there? I just love this book. Various love stories alongside family dynamics, a bit of Derbyshire countryside and a fair few dances and BAM! you have a classic. Obviously, only Jane Austen’s amazing writing could make it as good as it is, and as we all know the story, I’ll share a few of my favourite quotes.

“It is a truth universally acknowledged, that a single man in possession of a good fortune must be in want of a wife.”

[Charlotte to Lizzy] “Happiness in marriage is entirely a matter of chance.”

[Mr Bennet after Mr Collins has proposed to Lizzy] “From this day you must be a stranger to one of your parents. Your mother will never see you again if you do not marry Mr Collins, and I will never see you again if you do.

[Lizzy on the subject of men] “Stupid men are the only ones worth knowing, after all….What are men to rocks and moutains?”

[Mary on the subject of Lydia’s elopement] “This is a most unfortunate affair, and will probably be much talked of. But we must stem the tide of malice, and pour into the wounded bosoms of each other the balm of sisterly consolation.”

And a final quote, from Lizzy after Darcy proposed for the second time, “Think only of the past as its remembrance gives you pleasure.”

I’m off to browse our bookshelf to find my ‘B’ book, let’s see what we can find…

I’m linking up with #atozauthors over at Clarina’s Contemplations 🙂

atoz

2 thoughts on “A to Z authors – A

  1. Claire @ Clarina's Contemplations

    Oh! I do love a bit of Jane Austen… and Pride and Prejudice is definitely my favourite! Such a fabulous story, and the characters come out with the best lines (especially Mrs Bennett)… looking forward to seeing what you come up with for “B”! #atozauthors

    Reply

Leave a Reply

