Mr Darcy, dogs and daffodils #littleloves

It’s been a couple of weeks. Lack of blogging organisation and having l-o-n-g Friday nights babysitting and busy Saturdays, coupled with general illness and feeling a bit meh just meant that all things blogΒ took a backseat for a couple of weeks. Back now though (I’m sure you missed me), so what has been loved around here this week?

Read

IMG_20150305_161003

Possibly my favourite book ever. I’m joining in with A to Z authors over at Clarina’s Contemplations, so here’s to lots of things to share in this section as time goes on!

Watched

A few things…

Crufts. I’ve never watched it before, and it’s a pleasant thing to have on in the background. Clare Balding is a highlight, then of course there’s all the dogs! Me and my Mr are going to start dog walking at a local dog rescue as soon as we can πŸ™‚

Supervet. I’m watching this as I type on Thursday evening – as you can tell, I’m a bit of an animal lover. Especially of dogs and cats πŸ™‚

Little Women. We came across this on Movie Mix this evening – it was halfway through (Jo had just caught Meg and John kissing), but it was so…I think lovely is the word, to be watching an old classic. It’s one of the films that me and my sisters watched on repeat for almost 10 years, alongside Mary Poppins and the Sound of Music. For the first time though, I welled up when Beth died. We always fast forwarded that bit (to the point where the video went all funny), it’s so sad! Beautiful acting by Claire Danes. My hubby couldn’t stop laughing whenever Teddy came on though – he just kept picturing himΒ as Batman..!

Heard

Some amazing talks at a Growing Young Disciples conference that I was at last weekend. It was all about working with children and young people and growing them to be faithful under fire. The guy doing the main talks was so passionate and thoroughly engaging. I often struggle with concentration (occasionally fell asleep in lectures at uni…!), but I was totally listening the WHOLE time. He talked about how the world is hostile, and we need to prepare our young’unsΒ to stand firm. How can they? By seeing the greatness of God. He is BIG, bigger than anything we face in the world. What was so great about the day was that everything was helpful for adults in our lives, a really encouraging day πŸ™‚

Wore

Nothing exciting in this category (is there ever?!)…I think I’m wearing a few extra pounds round my tum after indulging in too much chocolate and too many biscuits in recent weeks!

Made

A few proper meals this week, and a big cheese scone. AND some knitting progress! I’m hoping to start colour 5 (finally!) after finishing this draft. Babysitting the last couple of fridays has been my dedicated knitting time, which hasΒ given it a real boost. Maybe finish it by the end of the next holidays…?

IMG_20150313_171412

And lastly…

Daffodils! I’ve seen them popping their heads out the last week or so, it feels good to see that Spring is on the way πŸ™‚

IMG_1111

This was taken a few years ago, not had chance to take any photos of this years…crop? Bunch? Or are they a bunch once they’ve been picked…hmm.

I’m linking up with butwhymummywhy?, sharing the love of little things πŸ™‚

littleloves

12 thoughts on “Mr Darcy, dogs and daffodils #littleloves

  1. mydaysni

    I have no idea about the daffodil question, but I may have to google it! Thirst for knowledge and all that lol! Glad to hear you have been finding a bit more time for your knitting, and hopefully next week you will not feel so meh! Here’s to Spring! x

    Reply
    1. Alice W Post author

      I googled it, still not certain but I think that ‘batch’ is the word I was looking for :p thank you, it’s less meh so far. Hope your week’s a good one xx

      Reply
    1. Alice W Post author

      I know, right?! No fitness regime for me either, so I can’t even justify it :p I’m learning to say no to myself a bit, and not buying chocolate and biscuits..now need go tackle the lack of exercise in my life…

      Reply
  2. Ravacholle

    Dog walking? This is so cute! I would love to that and did some research on my area but there is no such thing. I loved Little Women and planned on reading it again if I find it in my secondhand bookshop. Are you on Goodreads? I’ve been loving it recently for keeping track of my kind of long books-to-read-to-find list. Your knitting work definitely looks awesome! x

    Reply
    1. Alice W Post author

      Aww that’s such a shame. We’ve not made it down yet but will definitely be there next Saturday. I might read it again, I love it too πŸ™‚ I’ve not heard of Goodreads, but will definitely check it out. Thanks for the recommendation, and complimenting my knitting, it’s slow progress but I’m getting there :p xx

      Reply
  3. Alice W Post author

    It was so good, and such an important thing to be passionate about as well. Thanks for the blanket love, it’s s-l-o-w but I need to hurry up – got another niece/nephew due later in the year who’ll need something too..! Hope you’ve had a lovely week πŸ™‚ xx

    Reply

Leave a Reply

