A birthday and a blanket #littleloves

IT’S FRIDAY!! Wahoo. My Mr asked me what I was on as I bounced around the bedroom putting the washing away just now…and I’ve got that Friday feeling – so happy for the weekend. It’s not been a particularly awful week, in fact it’s been better than previous weeks, but weekends are just great.

Weekend love over, what have I been loving this week?

Read

IMG_20150316_170022

This biography about a pretty incredible lady called Gladys Aylward, or Ai-weh-deh (the virtuous one) as she was known in China. She made the treacherous journey to China in the 1930s to share Jesus with people there…she ended up living and workingΒ in a mountainΒ region visiting villages, setting up an inn, adopting some children, rehabilitating some prisoners, and, through all that, sharing Jesus’ love and teachings with those she met. It was a really fascinating book to read, and also harrowing when you get to the Japanese invasion and Gladys has to take 100 children across the mountains to escape to a children’s home that is over a month’s journey away. I felt humbled and challenged by her life and her passion for a people that initially rejected her, but then welcomed her as one of their own. A really good read.

Watched

One Born! I kind of love it, mostly watching the couples’ stories. These two this week were my favourites, partly because of their baby name – Thor. Amazing!

IMG_20150317_211702

Also watched the eclipse today – it was quite cloudy where we were so you could look at what was happening and not be blinded. The kids got quite excited as well, I then had to remind them that we shouldn’t normally look at the sun. They weren’t convinced…

22527_854768711250292_485829250667380123_n

Photo from Graham Dunn PhotographyΒ – my view wasn’t this good!

Wore

No coat this afternoon in the playground!! The sun was gloriously warm and it was beautiful. Spring is a-springing!

Heard

Lots of kids reading! I’ve been given the job of reading with every child at least once a week, which I am SO excited about. Lots of ours are never read with at home, so it’s so wonderful to be able to listen to them and encourage them to keep at it. Even in one week we’ve seen so much improvement, I can’t wait to see them climb up the Reading Rocket and discover the joy of reading by themselves πŸ™‚

Made

Fooooood. This salmon was pretty darn tasty, thanks Lorraine Pascale.

IMG_20150317_192310

I also did a homemade chicken korma from the Hairy Dieters cookbook, and it turned out ok…a bit watery (although that was possibly the rice), but it had lovely flavours and even though it wasn’t the classic orange (more green…), it was yum.

And lastly…

[I nearly snapped another photo of my daffodils, but I realise that that was my thing for this section last week :p]

It’s my sister’s birthday today, so we’re off to my Mums to bake a cake and have tea πŸ™‚

20150320_172447

Ooh and we treated ourselves to a new cosy blanket from Aldi – it is fleecy and snuggly and warm…

IMG_20150318_182843

I’m linking up with butwhymummywhy?, sharing the love of little things πŸ™‚

littleloves

8 thoughts on “A birthday and a blanket #littleloves

  1. Bloggermummylauren

    Great little loves! I’m absolutely loving being able to leave the house without a coat on to pick up the kids from school, I really can’t wait for the better weather.
    I didn’t realise one born had started again, it’s one of my favourite shows, will have to see if I can catch up online. It always makes me so broody though!

    Enjoy your weekend x
    #LittleLoves

    Reply
    1. Alice W Post author

      Haha it tends to scare me more than broodiness, maybe because I’ve not given birth yet so I can’t quite see past that..! Hope the nice weather continues where you are, fairly sure we’re in for more rain where I am. Hope you’ve had a nice weekend xx

      Reply
    1. Alice W Post author

      It’s ‘oven roast salmon with a mustard and parsley crust’…Lorraine Pascale πŸ™‚ let me know if you can’t find it – I can send it if need be xx

      Reply
  2. littleeandbean

    I had a really long hiatus away from OBEM and was feeling quite smug about how un-broody I felt, then I watched it this week and: WHAM! Ovaries. Need. Baby. Damnit,

    Reply

Leave a Reply

