The humble scone

Whether you call it a scone or a…scone, you can’t deny that it is pretty delicious. Plain, cheese, raisin-ed, or even chocolate chipped (I had an aversion to fruit in things as a younger person, so my Nana obliged with a choc chip variety for me), the humble scone is a firm favourite, at least of mine, if not the whole country/world/universe.

Having grown up near the Peak District, we often journeyed out for walks and visiting castle-type things, so a Derbyshire Cream Tea was, naturally, an essential part of these trips. For those who don’t know, the Derbyshire Cream Tea is a pot of tea with a scone or two, to be eaten topped with jam and clotted cream. Is there a more perfect combination (I feel like Miranda said something like that, about something else, but imagine saying that in her voice and you’ll get the feel of how I’m saying that in my head)?

20150321_161511

On our most recent Peaks venture, we found ourselves in Castleton, home to the lovely Three Roofs Cafe (so named because it has, you guessed it, three cute little roofs). We’d done the popular ridge walk along from Mam Tor to Losehill, so were keen to have a little treat at the end. Me and my mum shared the scones of the cream tea whilst everyone else had various other sweet delights (lemon cake, victoria sponge and nougat – not together I hasten to add). I’ve not had scones with jam and clotted cream in SO long, and boy was it good. The modestΒ scone dolled up for a special occasion…afternoon tea πŸ™‚

20150321_161459I forgot to share this as part of my #littleloves postΒ this week, so I felt that it needed it’s own little dedication – cos it’s just so yummy! So if you’re ever in Derbyshire/the Peaks – get yourselves a cream tea. You won’t regret it πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

