Meal Planning Monday

There has been some epic meal planning going on in my head the last day or so! What with it being the holidays, I’ve decided to be a bit more adventurous with meals and go for all new recipes. I went through my favourite cookbooks and chose some recipes, then consulted my hubby on what he’d like, crossed a few off and made a Final List.

IMG_20150328_124139

20150329_151531

We did what felt like a gargantuan Tesco shop (sorry again Aldi & Lidl, how I missed your prices!), with all sorts of things in the trolley: fennel, sesame seeds, mint, basil, cornmeal, cream of tartar and LOTS of lemons. Saw this fun display of coke cans as well, although it took me a few minutes to realise that there was an actual picture, not just a humungous stack of coke!

20150328_172722

Anyway, on with the meal plan.

mpm-different-fonts.png-300x300

Monday

Lunch: Sandwiches

Tea: Lebanese Feast – hummus, tabouleh, Shish Taouk (a chicken dish) and Loubieh bi zayt (beans in oil).

Tuesday

Lunch: Cafe in town

Tea:Β Tomato and Basil soup (made in the slow cooker) with homemade rolls – oh yes, going all out!

Wednesday (my birthday!)

Lunch: Probably out at Chatsworth, so either Farm cafe or picnic.

Tea: Meal out – Indian or Italian, currently can’t decide!

Thursday

Lunch:Β Soup & rolls

Tea: Steak and chips – cooked using my new grill pan πŸ™‚

Friday

Lunch: Soup/sandwiches

Tea: If there’s no leftovers, I might do Toad in the Hole, cos I LOVED it last week – so quick and easy, yet super yummy.

Saturday

Playing it by ear, we’re spending the afternoon with friends so we’ll see where the day takes us…

Sunday

Lunch: Fish, I think, as we’re at my mum’s and my sister’s a vegetarian, so roast lamb isn’t very fair on her :p

Tea: At church/leftovers/scones

Following on from my post about the humble scone, I have since found the section of one of Mary Berry’s baking books with plenty of different scone recipes – I made drop scones (scotch pancakes) yesterday for breakfast…

20150329_115347

…and plan to make Devonshire scones and griddle scones, as well as a big cheese scone. I’ve gone scone crazy πŸ™‚

Head on over to At Home With Mrs MΒ for more meal planning love & inspiration…

14 thoughts on “Meal Planning Monday

  1. Seren

    What a great week – that Lebanese feast sounds amazing! And I love scones too – they were the very first thing that I ever learned to cook.

    Happy Easter!

    Reply
    1. Alice W Post author

      Thank you, you too! Lebanese food is my favourite, but never cooked it before…hopefully it’ll be tasty πŸ™‚ scones are ust so great…might make a cheese one now…xx

      Reply
    1. Alice W Post author

      Ooh which restaurant? I lived in Leeds for a bit and went to the shawarma one on the main road near the university. Homemade was…interesting, but I’ve learnt some useful lessons πŸ™‚ xx

      Reply

Leave a Reply

