Holiday Cooking Endeavours #2

Oh yes, I am well and truly on the cooking bandwagon this week. I generally am (I think it’s one of my favourite hobbies), but trying out some new things and generally having more time to make things is lovely. Today was a slow cooker day. Slow cookers are brilliant, but I often find that I just don’t have time on a morning to do the prep that you need to do beforehand. Even if it’s just chopping veg and browning some meat or something, I only leave myself half an hour from getting out of bed to leaving the house, so not much wiggle room.

Holidays, therefore, are the perfect chance to get into some slow cooking. On the menu this evening: Tomato and Basil Soup with homemade rolls. There was a certain degree of prep involved, but the end result was so yummy that I’m hoping to make this on Sundays from time to time and take it in as lunches during the week.

DSC_0114_2

Muchos tomatoes. 

DSC_0115

They needed skinning, which took some serious time, but a good technique to learn. You can see my little production line – glass bowl = tomatoes been cut at the top and bottom, ready for boiling water. White bowl = cold water ready to dip the tomatoes after a minute in the hot. Plate = ready to peel off. Exciting times, n’est-ce pas?

DSC_0117

Peeled, chopped and ready to cook.

DSC_0118_2

Onions softening in some oil and butter (on the hob – pre-slow cooker prep).

DSC_0121

Admiring one of my favourite pieces of cooking equipment.

No photos of the rest, but once the onions are soft, add the tomatoes and garlic, then some wine and stock. Bring to the boil then put into the slow cooker. Switch this onto HIGH for an hour, then down to LOW for 6 hours. Once it’s done, put into a pan and blitz it with a hand blender. Then add some creeeeeeeam.

DSC_0126Tear some basil into it, then heat through (I did it super low whilst I waited for my bread rolls to finish rising and bake). Put it on the table and voilà.

DSC_0133I’m not one to be boastful, but this soup was GOOD. Not too watery or tomatoey, just a perfect balance of flavours. You may spot some lovely little bread rolls in the background, which were made today, but I think I’ll leave those for another post.

It’s my BIRTHDAY tomorrow (woohoo!), so the only thing that I’m making tomorrow is the topping for a cheesecake that I made this evening (not convinced it’s going to set in the fridge, I’m trusting Mary Berry though!). Got to have something for a birthday cake 🙂

Leave a Reply

