A to Z authors – B & C

Time for an #atozauthors update, linking up with Clarina’s Contemplations 🙂

atoz

Wow, really looks like I’ve made no progress…! I was hoping to be much further on by now, but I did read a different book for my ‘B’ before finding the one I used instead, so that took out a week…then instead of just reading one of the series that my ‘C’ author wrote, I read all 7…

One thing I can say though, is that I am LOVING being back into reading regularly. It really gets my brain ready to sleep, even reading on my kindle which has the backlight. Not so great is my lack of self-discipline in terms of when to stop, but I’ve only stayed up til ridiculous-o-clock once, so we’re not doing too badly.

So, without further ado, here are my books for this month.

IMG_20150316_170022

The Small Woman by Alan Burgess

This biography is about a pretty incredible lady called Gladys Aylward, or Ai-weh-deh (the virtuous one) as she was known in China. She made the treacherous journey to China in the 1930s to share Jesus with people there…she ended up living and working in a mountain region visiting villages, setting up an inn, adopting some children, rehabilitating some prisoners, and, through all that, sharing Jesus’ love, life and teachings with those she met. It was a really fascinating book to read, and also harrowing when you get to the Japanese invasion and Gladys has to take 100 children across the mountains to escape to a children’s home that is over a month’s journey away. I felt humbled and challenged by her life and her passion for a people that initially rejected her, but then welcomed her as one of their own. A really good read. I wish I’d kept track of some of the brilliant quotes, but sadly I didn’t, you’ll just have to take my word for it 🙂

Screenshot_2015-04-01-21-34-05

The Chronicles of Narnia by C S Lewis

We all know at least one of these stories and others to varying degrees, but I’d never actually read them so was keen to get through them all. I’ve had them on my Kindle for a while so when it came to choosing an author for ‘C’, I went straight for these. Originally planning to read one, but went on to read them all. They’re all pretty short and easily readable, but so many adventures. I like that there’s generally only one main adventure every book, and a few twists and turns, but nothing too drastic. Lewis’ writing is beautiful as well, I have some great quotes to share! His depiction of the creation of Narnia is quite something, and the clear parallels between Jesus and Aslan really struck me – not just in his sacrifice for Edmund in the second book, but his presence is sewn into the fabric of each book and the different characters’ different perceptions and attitude towards him reflect how we in the world today perceive and relate to Him. Whether you read between the lines or not, these stories are magical and exciting, I will definitely read them to our children in the future 🙂 now for a few quotes…

“For what you see and hear depends a good deal on where you are standing: it also depends on what sort of person you are.”

[Fledge/Strawberry the horse to Polly and Digory] “Unless you try the grass. You might like it better than you think.” “Oh don’t be silly”, said Polly, stamping her foot. “Of course humans can’t eat grass, any more than you could eat a mutton chop.”

[Mr Beaver on Aslan] “Who said anything about safe? ‘Course he isn’t safe. But he’s good. He’s the King, I tell you.”

[A lion has just been un-statued by Aslan] “Did you hear what he said? Us lions. That means him and me. Us lions. That’s what I like about Aslan. No side, no stand-off-ishness. Us lions. That meant him and me.”

“Talking dogs, just like the common ones, behave as if they thought whatever they are doing at the moment immensely important”. This made me think of my dogs and smile.

There were so many more, but a) I forgot to screenshot them, and b) if I was going to write them all, you may as well read the books 🙂

I’ve just finished the last page of the final Narnia book, now I’m off to find my next book…might even pop to the library, get out of my comfort zone a little. Happy Easter, and happy reading!

2 thoughts on “A to Z authors – B & C

  1. Claire @ Clarina's Contemplations

    Wowzers! What a productive month… and I know ALL about silly o’clock reading! But hey, I always think that’s the sign of a good book, right?! Love the look of the Gladys Aylward one… I might need to invest, and we are big fans of Lewis here too. I just finished “The Lion, The Witch and The Wardrobe” with my three-year-old a couple of months back. We’re currently reading “My Naughty Little Sister”! Thanks so much for joining in with #atozauthors

    Reply
    1. Alice W Post author

      I found the Gladys book in amongst some old ones we got from my Granny’s, such a gem. I’d seen you were reading that one, I remember it from my childhood, so glad that it’s still around, sometimes the old ones are the best 🙂 thanks for hosting, I’m really enjoying it! Xx

      Reply

Leave a Reply

