Toad in the Hole

I could talk for hours about this amazing dish (maybe not for hours, but it is really quite something, isn’t it?), and after Amy over at Lush Eats asked for a recipe I thought I’d share it on here as mine came from a recipe book and not the World Wide Web. It’s a student recipe book that my mum got my then-boyfriend-now-hubby and I love using it. I simplified the recipe (she wrapped the sausages in bacon) and tried the gravy but it was a fail cos I used the wrong onions and no wine, but the TintheH was SO good. Enough natter, on with the recipe…

Ingredients

2 eggs – 125g plain flour – 150ml cold water mixed with 150ml milk – 1 tsp wholegrain mustard

6 proper sausages – 3 tbsp olive oil – salt and pepper

Method

Put the oven on at 220 C (non-fan).

To make the batter, mix the eggs, flour, milk and water, mustard and some salt and pepper together with a whisk, beating out the little lumps. The consistency should be that of double cream. Leave to rest for 15 mins.

Put the oil into your chosen receptacle (I used an ovenproof dish, the kind you’d use for lasagne) and put in the oven for 3-5ish minutes. Take out and pour in the batter mix, which should sizzle softly.

Arrange the sausages in the batter then put in the oven to bake for 25-30 mins, til the batter is puffed and golden.

(Mine had a really good rise, then deflated, which didn’t bother us and didn’t affect the taste, so maybe google some methods for avoiding this, if indeed there are any).

Take it out and enjoy! I made some Bisto gravy (due to my onion gravy fail) and next time will steam some green veg to have alongside it.

There you have it, a simple yet tasty meal 🙂

Leave a Reply

