Plans, PJs and a little Pear #littleloves

A fun-filled week with Easter, time with friends and family and lazy days, as well as some outings (Chatsworth again, my new favourite place. Post to follow on that!). We celebrated Easter over the weekend with our church family as we remembered why Jesus came, talking about his death on Friday, then celebrated the joy and excitement of Sunday – He is risen! I was on kids stuff, and we had ourselves a little party with party poppers, dancing, chatting as we looked through at a Bible passage and decorating biscuits. Woohoo! There was, of course, roast lamb and all the trimmings on Sunday with my Mum, sisters and their significant others, before which we dabbled in a 1500 piece puzzle and/or knitted in the garden.

We alsoΒ spent Saturday afternoon with a couple of friends and had a mammoth lunch at the Fox House out in the Peaks followed by a rather beautiful walk. It was the first of the warmer days that we’ve since been enjoying, it felt so good to be seeing the blue sky!

DSC_0204

Our amazingly delicious pudding…which the four of us demolished in less than 5 minutes.

20150404_162855

20150404_165444

So, in amongst all that, what have I been loving this week?

Read

Lots of hotel/hostel descriptions on Tripadvisor, as well as some city travel guides on various websites…holiday planning is in the air! Me and my friends are planning a week away somewhere in Europe, and me and my Mr might head off to Rome for a bit. Exciting πŸ™‚

Watched

Paddington again – as laugh out loud as it was the first time round. Just realised that I’ve missed One Born and Gogglebox this week, yey for 4od.

Wore

I don’t feel ashamed but I feel as though I should be – I was in my PJs til 5pm yesterday (avoids eye contact). We decided in the morning to have a PJ day, which I spent most of knitting, and then when my Mum texted suggestingΒ a walk in the evening, I figured that I needed to get out, which I did. Should I be ashamed of myself for not being out in the gorgeous weather all day? Quite possibly, but it doesn’t happen every day, honest… πŸ™‚

Heard

Lots of excited children on the Frozen bouncy castle at the Family Fun Morning at church on Saturday…there were a couple of kids who refused to go on it because of this, but most of them just loved it.

2015-04-09 23.03.52

Apologies for the rubbish quality – my phone camera is pretty poor in most lighting situations…

Made

An actual thing with my knitting!! And not just any thing, a HAT. My practice was a dinky little one…

IMG_20150408_094144

…knitting in the round is no joke. It required my full attention, but so worth it when it all comes together. The pattern I’ve been itching to try is the Golden Pear, as featured by Carie at Space for the Butterflies, and here it is: my first ever proper knitted item that could actually be worn by a person…a very tiny person, but a person all the same.

IMG_7711

A few errors in there – accidentally added a row, and my weaving in the ends wasn’t the best, but I’m very pleased with this first try, and am going to try another one using some different wool and colours.

And lastly…

Can it be anything but this simply magnificent weather that we’ve been enjoying? Warmth, sun, blue skies…hello Spring, better late than never πŸ™‚ of course, it’ll be back to rain, sleet and snow on Monday when I have to be outside all day, but we enjoy it whilst it lasts. Here are a few photos from our walk this evening…

20150409_180113 20150409_185156 20150409_190254 20150409_190431 20150409_192650

I’m linking up with butwhymummywhy?, sharing the love of little things πŸ™‚

littleloves

19 thoughts on “Plans, PJs and a little Pear #littleloves

  1. littlejampotlife

    We’ve not seen Paddington yet, but will soon as their Grampy got the dvd for them! I have been spending lots of time in my PJs too so don’t worry, Love the look of that pudding!! x

    Reply
  2. Life as we know it

    Oh Chatsworth is on my list of places to go. I read a fab biography of Bess of Hardwick and have wanted to visit ever since, it’s only 40 miles away from us now so I may get to visit!
    Your knitting is great, I love the colours that you have chosen. Have a lovely week x

    Reply
    1. Alice W Post author

      Ooh I’d love to read about people who actually lived there, there’s so much history. Get there if you can, it’s well worth a visit!
      Thank you, my hubby helped pick them…there were just so many to choose from! Have a great week too πŸ™‚ Xx

      Reply
  3. Mummy Hearts You

    The weather has been glorious hasn’t it? I am so hoping its here to stay! That dessert looks amazing! I had a back log of One Borns to watch! This weeks was a tear jerker! I always end up crying and I actually screamed at the TV this week! Have a wonderful weekend x

    Reply
    1. Alice W Post author

      Aww I love it, when that guy nearly missed the birth last time I was just like, “Come on Gary, get back there!!”. Hope you enjoy your weekend too πŸ™‚ xx

      Reply
  4. Jess @ Along Came Cherry

    Well done on your knitted hat, it’s fab! I learnt how to knit a while ago but then learnt to crochet and preferred it so have been doing lots of that. I love knitted things too though so I must get back to it and make something x

    Reply
  5. A Little Londoner

    I’ve not see Paddington yet, need to get it, I worked in Paddington and it’s where Amelia was born, so it should be in our DVD collection! The hat looks great – well done and the desert has my moth watering!! Have a great week xxx

    Reply
    1. Alice W Post author

      That’s such a lovely connection, and such a fun film. Thank you, there’s a new baby in our church family so I might see if it fits him…even if it is a bit warm for hats the moment! Hope you have a good week too xx

      Reply
  6. Claire @ Clarina's Contemplations

    Chatsworth is one of my favourite places in the world. We have family in Derbyshire and always pay it a visit when we’re there! Rome is possibly my favourite European city. It has SO much character… I highly, highly recommend! Well done on your knitting projects! I’m always so inspired by Carie’s knitting and quilting! Impressed that you gave it a go! Glad you had a lovely Easter! #littleloves

    Reply
  7. Not A Frumpy Mum

    Your pudding looks amazing and Rome would be amazing, I’ve always wanted to go. I love Italy! xx

    Reply

Leave a Reply

