Enid Blyton, a finished blanket and a bit of CS Lewis #littleloves

Well hello there May, where did you come from? This time last year I was studying hard (ish) for my exams, trying to get my dissertation finished, as well as starting to look for jobs for September. Where did that year go?! Mental.

Anyway, it was a fab bank holiday weekend. We were on a church weekend away down near Northampton and it was a time filled with great Bible teaching and worship, as well asΒ fellowship together over food (LOTS of food), games (involving face paint and a parachute), and tea and cake. Cuddling the babies was also great, had to resist the temptation to spend all my time doing that…!

Read

2015-05-07 18.21.38

I’ve started a new book for the #atozauthors challenge, and it’s an old classic. One of my faves from childhood and it’s fun to re-read it. Some great characters in there.

Watched

Interstellar – weird film. Well filmed, but a bit hard to get your head round bits of it! We also watched some hilarious Haka videos from the weekend away. Each team had to film one, and my favourite was the one where some mums ran off screaming and their little ones chased them on those little ride-on things..maybe not a traditional Haka, but funny nonetheless πŸ™‚

Wore

Umm. Well I haven’t worn it, but my sister’s been wearing something new…and engagement ring! She got engaged on Sunday, which is exciting and lovely πŸ™‚ wedding in about a year, I’m already thinking about organising wedding dress appointmentsΒ and starting a Pinterest board…

Heard

Real baby/toddler laughter this week, there’s a bunch of little ones between 1 and 2 at church, and they often play together really sweetly, giggling away and giving each other sloppy kisses. Love it πŸ™‚

Made

DSC_0004

Finished my baby blanket…finally! Four months in the making, it’s squashy and bright, and I can’t wait to give it to my niece who should be making an appearance over the few weeks…exciting!

And lastly…

BYwHQq9CYAEgA6R

Image source

A quote from the weekend away when we did a session on humility. I was challenged on my selfishness and constant focus on me me me, when really, it’s not about me at all.

I’m linking up with butwhymummywhy?, sharing the love of little things πŸ™‚

32 thoughts on “Enid Blyton, a finished blanket and a bit of CS Lewis #littleloves

  1. Stacie

    Wow, that blanket is gorgeous! I would love to be able to knit. Enid Blyton is one of my favourite childhood authors, brings back lots of happy memories. Congratulations to your sister on her engagement – Pinterest is deadly for wedding inspiration!
    Enjoy your weekend,
    Stacie xx

    Reply
    1. Alice W Post author

      I know, I didn’t discover it until after my own wedding unfortunately…or maybe fortunately :p She had so many good series, Twins at St Clare’s was one of my favourites. Hope you have a great weekend too xx

      Reply
  2. Mummy Hearts You

    Four months to make a blanket? Jeez, its taken me a year to make {half way} a ripple blanket! It looks gorgeous xx Popping over from Little Love linky x

    Reply
  3. thelovebump

    Ooh The Magic Faraway Tree is one of my absolute favourites!
    I LOVE your blanket – she’s a very lucky little girl πŸ™‚
    Have a great weekend, hopping over from #littleloves
    Kerry x

    Reply
  4. MumReinvented

    What a great quote and certainly true. That blanket is absolutely gorgeous, wish I was even slightly crafty. I’m a huge Enid Blyton fan, I’m going to have to pass on my love for them to my 3 year old as my 13 year old just wasn’t interested in them – they’re ‘vintage’ apparently and in teen world vintage isn’t cool! Have a great weekend! x

    Reply
  5. butwhymummywhy

    I loved the Faraway Tree as a child, my girls don’t seem to enjoy it though, *sob*
    Your weekend away sounds great, it’s good to get away and feel refreshed isn’t it?
    That quote at the end is perfect. Thing I need to print it out and frame it as a reminder for myself!
    Have a lovely weekend xx

    Reply
    1. Alice W Post author

      Aww sad times…maybe a different series? It was very refreshing, that’s just the word for it. I need to get the quote stuck up somewhere too, words to live by. Hope you enjoy your weekend too πŸ™‚ xx

      Reply
  6. A Little Londoner

    The blanket is stunning, well done you! I loved Enid Blyton growing up and my mum
    has kept my books, so I can pass them down to Amelia to read when she is older! Sounds like ye had a great weekend? Hope this weekend is just as much fun cxx

    Reply
    1. Alice W Post author

      Thank you! I hope Amelia loves them as much as you do πŸ™‚ it was a great weekend, and has been good this time round so far. Hope you have a good one with your lovely little ones xx

      Reply
  7. Not A Frumpy Mum

    How exciting about your sister getting engaged, lots of wedding planning on the horizon xx

    Reply

Leave a Reply

