Postcards from Cambridge

We’re not really minibreak-ers. When we have a longer weekend or a week off, we either use it to recover from the half term just gone or visit family. Despite being married for 2 years whilst still at uni, we never used those long holidays for travelling or such like, which I’m kicking myself for a bit now. I have to remind myself that there were other things to be done…you know, studying and stuff. And the part-time job that helped to pay for life. Little things.

Anyway, when my Mum said my sister could do with some moral support as she goes about revision in the run up to final exams, our vague plans to spend a weekend in Cambridge that we’ve been discussing for as long as we’ve been married (3 years, nearly…woah, where did that time go?!) finally took shape. I booked a Travelodge (tried to go more independent guesthouse/hostel, but there was nothing cheaper) on the Sunday and we packed and headed off on Friday.

I’ve only ever spent the odd few hours in Cambridge, either dropping my sister off or picking her (and her bags and boxes) up, so I was excited to soak it all up for a day or so. I’ve rambled enough already, so here are some photos to do the talking for me. A mixture of DSLR and phone pictures.

DSC_0004_2

Kings College Chapel 

DSC_0098

Trinity College

DSC_0097

St John’s College

DSC_0088

Trinity Hall College (my little sister’s)

DSC_0009

Fitzwilliam Museum – full of cool stuff, but I could only hack it for half an hour. Sorry, history.

DSC_0012

The ceiling of the museum entrance was pretty

DSC_0028

DSC_0029

One big ass coin

DSC_0027

Mini Angel of the North…a nice silhouette 🙂

DSC_0007

20150516_131051

BIKES

20150516_130052

Cigar box guitars according to my Mr…random!

DSC_0032

DSC_0035

DSC_0006_2

A fancy new Nissan…we also saw an Aston Martin in the distance and a couple of Rolls Royce wedding cars

DSC_0077

DSC_0075

DSC_0079

DSC_0085

DSC_0083

DSC_0100

Time for a bit of nature now. I’m not much of a bird watcher, but we saw a few exciting birds over the weekend. The usual obviously, like ducks and geese, but there were babies, and then we saw a heron on the Saturday evening as we walked home. Now, I don’t know much about birds, but I feel like seeing a heron isn’t something that happens all that often (just googled it, turns out I’m wrong…ah well). Either way, I’ve only ever seen one once before, so it was exciting! Then on Sunday morning as we walked back to our car to head home, we saw a little family of moorhens. Like, newborn moorhens, there were still some unhatched eggs in the nest. So cute!

DSC_0073

DSC_0086

DSC_0042

DSC_0045

DSC_0047

DSC_0103

DSC_0105

Mummy (?) back to feed the bubbas

DSC_0109

DSC_0111 DSC_0112

Oh and there were cows. In a field. In the town. Not central, but not quite the countryside either. Cows. COWS. It took me a while to get over the excitement.

DSC_0070

Phew, this is turning out to be more mammoth than anticipated. If you’re still here, well done! Just food to go 🙂

In a nutshell then, Jamie’s Pizzeria and Harriets Cafe Tearooms. Best pizza ever and the cutest cafe/tearoom I’ve been into. Take me back 🙂

20150516_204133

20150516_204121

20150516_203950

20150516_195711

Delish

DSC_0092

DSC_0094

It was very hard to resist the temptation to buy myself a box of these…!

DSC_0095

A really really lovely weekend, some sister time and lots of enjoying the beautiful weather 🙂

Leave a Reply

