Summer shoes, suncream and…well, sun! #littleloves

Another week gone, and we have welcomed July, as well as summer, apparently! It has felt like I’m back in Morocco at times this week…that feeling of intense heat, sweaty everywhere, and the smell as I walked past some bins really took me back a few years. I’m not complaining though, it beats rain and cold πŸ™‚ so, what little things have I loved this week?

Read

Not much…not done my June update of #atozauthors yet, not that I’ll be sharing much unfortunately…I have no excuse! I’m sure the arrival of the summer holidays will see this section become more interesting πŸ™‚

Watched

A few things…the fostering programme on BBC2, eye-opening and emotional; a bit of HUMANS, mysterious and gripping; then this clip of Peter Kay. Love it.

WoreΒ IMG_20150628_11564820150630_072604Sandals! Consistently, every day. To the point where I have to put socks on before I leave the house/when I get home, as my feet get all dry and cracked if they’re constantly out in the open. Can anyone recommend a good foot cream?! Also loving my summery trousers making an appearance πŸ™‚

Worn plenty of this too, hope we all have been!

20150618_111848

Heard

I’ve rediscovered this song this week…I had the lyrics copied out and stuck next to my desk whilst revising for my exams last year. Such a great reminder of where to be finding rest, always.

Made

A start on the road to fitness…hurrah! It didn’t go so well…first run left me incredibly stiff and hobbling for days because I ran too far too soon (4 miles), then the second was still too much (2 miles) and caused one of my muscles to swell up. Fab. It’s right, right back to the beginning with the couch to 5k programme of walk/run/walk, building up to running 5k. It’ll require patience and commitment on my part, hoping to get the hubby involved too though πŸ™‚

IMG_20150620_174315 (1)

(Let’s ignore the strip of Galaxy that I just ate…first chocolate this week, pretty good for me)

And lastly…

We had a lovely time at my sister’s engagement party at the weekend, spending time with family and meeting their friends at a lovely, sunny BBQ. Here are a couple of snaps…

20150628-DSC_0001 20150628-DSC_0024 20150628-DSC_0083 20150628-DSC_0196 Tim and Ruth

I love this shot that my Mr got of me and my Nana – she’s 90 andΒ still living independently, not driving at the moment after a fall, but going so strong. This is a photo that I can see myself treasuring forever πŸ™‚

I’m linking up with but why mummy why?, sharing the love of little things πŸ™‚

17 thoughts on “Summer shoes, suncream and…well, sun! #littleloves

  1. Stacie (@ParkerandMe)

    Lovely photo of you and your nan, one to cherish I think. And I have to say she looks incredible for 90, what a lady! The weather has been gorgeous this week, although I’m not sure how you’ve managed to run in it! I can just about sit in it. The smell of suncream always reminds me of my honeymoon – relaxing by the pool, with a an ice cold drink and my book – bliss!
    Enjoy your weekend xx

    Reply
    1. Alice W Post author

      Thank you πŸ™‚ she does, doesn’t she? If only she’d see it that way too! I ran on one of the cooler days, definitely not going out if it’s more than 20. That sounds like a perfect honeymoon πŸ™‚ hope you’re having a good week xx

      Reply
  2. butwhymummywhy

    What lovely photos – the one with you and your Nana especially!
    The weather has been amazing hasn’t it? I too have been living in sandals – my poor feet could do with some TLC!
    Have a lovely weekend xx

    Reply
    1. Alice W Post author

      Thank you πŸ™‚ I know, it’s a shame it’s dropped again this week…can’t say I’m complaining though. My feet are enjoying socks again πŸ™‚ Xx

      Reply
  3. Louisa (@life_asweknow)

    Your photos are fab, especially the one of you and your Nanna. I have never heard that psalm before but it is wonderful, definitely one I will return to. Have a great weekend x (soap and glory foot cream is fab)

    Reply
    1. Alice W Post author

      Thanks, my hubby took them. It’s one of my favourites, speaking truths to the soul. Ooh I’ll try them, I had their handcream a while back and it smelt lovely xx

      Reply
  4. Esther @ Inside Out and About

    I watched an adoption and fostering programme sometime last year and I was totally balling my eyes out. It was such an emotional rollercoaster and totally heartbreaking at times. I love your rag rug! It’s gorgeous! and how precious is that photo of you and your Nana? A pair of beauties! xx

    Reply
    1. Alice W Post author

      Doesn’t it just tear you apart a little bit? My mum found the rug, I think it’s a Traidcraft one. Aww you’re so kind, I’ll have to pass on all these compliments to her πŸ™‚ xx

      Reply
  5. A Little Londoner

    Gorgeous picture of you and your Nana…..good for her living independently at that age!! Im licking my lips looking at those sausages and the cheese board!
    Well done on putting on those trainers and making a start….you have jumped over the first hurdle, starting!! Hope you have a lovely week and enjoy the sunshine xxxx

    Reply
    1. Alice W Post author

      I know, she’s amazing but doesn’t quite accept it :p Thank you, need to pick myself up again now and keep going! Well done on getting healthy to wear your skirt, I’m always in awe of people who do that πŸ™‚ hope you’re having a fab week xx

      Reply
  6. mumreinvented

    Gorgeous pic of you and your nan.Love that cheese board, so cute! Well done on getting started on your couch to 5k again. Hope your muscles repair themselves soon – 4 miles first time, are you mad!?! (I die after 4 metres though) Have a great week x

    Reply
    1. Alice W Post author

      Thanks πŸ™‚ it’s not gone so well this week, been stretching off… πŸ˜‰ it was a bit mad yes, and I paid the price hehe. Hope you’re having a good week too xx

      Reply
  7. mydaysni

    Love the picture of you and your Nan.. and your wedding photos from your next post (See, there are some benefits to being late to comment) That BBQ looks fab. Hope you are enjoying your week x

    Reply

Leave a Reply

