Jack Reacher, War Horse and sweet treats #littleloves

Phew. Very glad this week’s over. It has been a bit crazy to say the least. I fell asleep on Wednesday as soon as we got home, and haven’t had the energy to do any physio exercises or go running. We had a meeting during the week about the new kids moving up from nursery, and to say that I’m anxious is an understatement. [I removed the statement about toilet issues, realised thay it wasn’t professional or fair on the kids] Lots of additional needs, more than they’ve ever had, and I feel incredibly unprepared and inexperienced. Help.

And so, in amongst the angst, I need to look for the positives!

Read

20150716_171447

I bought this on Saturday for the train ride home from London, and had finished it 12 hours later. I loved it! Must get myself another Jack Reacher novel soon πŸ™‚

Watched

20150711_171657

This amazing play…we went to London for a birthday trip for my Mum, and oh my word what a show. SO emotional, heart-wrenching, by the end of the show you forget that the horses aren’t real, it’s done so well. Definitely the best play I’ve ever seen in London, possibly the best I’ve seen EVER.

Heard

Annoying but fun πŸ™‚

Wore

Nothing exciting. The weather has confused me this week, so I’ve made some bad footwear choices and been sweating in my Converse when I should’ve worn sandals. Anyone else find that the temperature of yourΒ feet regulates your body temperature? Just me? Ok…

Made

Graduation caps! We’re having a little ceremony tomorrow (feels a bit ridiculous, but I’m sureΒ the parents will appreciate it), so I’ve been making caps with our class this week. Pretty much they write their name, choose some ribbon for the top, I do the rest. They do look super cute wearing them though πŸ™‚

Also made some different breakfast choices this week…yoghurt, muesli, berries and honey. Delicious and seems to keep me fuller for a bit longer.

IMG_20150711_090150

And lastly…

…not much progress on theΒ road to fitness, which I did a post on last week. On the exercise front it’s due to the aforementioned tiredness, on the no-sugar front, it’s cos of things like this…

20150711_180948…yum. Also, there’s been chocolate cake at work, end-of-year gifts which basically consist of boxes of chocolate, a collection of chocolate bars…which of course I have to eat asap πŸ™‚ Thanks kids. Even though I’m a bit frustrated, I LOVE all the yummy treats.

Oh, and it’s the holidays!

I’m linking up with but why mummy why?, sharing the love of little things πŸ™‚

littleloves

24 thoughts on “Jack Reacher, War Horse and sweet treats #littleloves

  1. pottymouthedmummy

    I really want an iced coffee now. I’ve slipped a little on healthy eating this week due to limited time and feeling a little stressed, never a good combo for me.

    I’m not sure I can watch War Horse, I’m a bit sensitive about animal things eek! Glad you loved it so much xx

    Reply
    1. Alice W Post author

      I’m the same, it was so emotional! I hope the stress is lessened now the move is underway, here’s to a new week πŸ™‚ xx

      Reply
  2. Jess @ Catch A Single Thought

    I found giving up sugar SO hard…I’d be like ‘Oh, I’m just going to treat myself to xyz’ and realise afterwards why I shouldn’t have done that!! It does get easier though. The play sounds amazing, and any book which keeps you hooked has to be a winner πŸ™‚

    Reply
    1. Alice W Post author

      I’m hoping it will…it’s so hard with all the chocolate presents from school piled up in the cupboard..need to give them all away really! Xx

      Reply
  3. lifeasourlittlefamily

    I loved the movie War Horse so I would love to see it at the theatre. Stay strong with the fitness honey, you will feel much better for it in the long run, staying strong is tough. Enjoy the treats while you can x #littleloves

    Reply
    1. Alice W Post author

      It’s AMAZING, definitely go if you can. Thank you, I’m hoping to use the summer hols as a chance to get back on top of things a bit πŸ™‚ xx

      Reply
  4. Jenny @ Let's Talk Mommy

    Oh your treats looks amazing and at the moment I am doing a 30 no junk challenge it’s so hard not to buy goodies when I am out. I haven’t heard of Jack Reacher so I will have to check him out as a writer. Sounds intriguing. Always looking out for a good book. πŸ™‚ Lovely #littleloves

    Reply
    1. Alice W Post author

      Wow, 30 days? And that includes other junk too, not just sugar…keep it up! The author’s Lee Child, I think there’s loads in the series, I can definitely recommend them xx

      Reply
      1. Jenny @ Let's Talk Mommy

        Yes, a whole 30 days to cleanse our gravings for junk like pizza, ice cream, chocolate, goodies, pastries, bread/pastas, and other sugary foods. I know torture but I think it’s good for our bodies. Helps to have us doing it together. Oh yes I will check the series out for sure.

      2. Jenny @ Let's Talk Mommy

        Just want to get rid of the last bit of baby blub on the tummy and start toning it up. Will then be back to pre-baby life…well sort of things don’t get back as you know normal hahaha the hips are where they are hahaha

      3. Alice W Post author

        I’m sure it’ll work..ahh I have all this to look forward to when we start down the baby route..I’ve learnt so much from reading blogs by mums, the reality is somewhat different from what I’d always imagined :p x

  5. thenthefunbegan

    I literally could not give up sugar!! I’m currently really into granola for breakfast which I just have with a banana on my work days but one of my colleagues pointed out that I was having a massive portion. I think portion sizes are quite a big deal – I eat less now and it is still very filling. I’ve never read anything by Lee Child but that one does look like quite a good read! And yes, your foot temperature definitely plays a huge part in how hot or cold you feel – it’s important to get the footwear right! Have a lovely weekend Xx #littleloves

    Reply
    1. Alice W Post author

      You’re quite right, portion sizes have such an impact…as do snacks πŸ˜‰ so glad I’m not the only one with the foot thing hehe xx

      Reply
  6. Little Green Tree

    Oh I’m with you on the frustration… If wishes could power diets, what a body Id have! As for the kids, a few weeks is a long time… Progress is possible… And September is years away anyhow πŸ˜‰

    Reply
  7. mumreinvented

    Always fancied seeing War Horse, it looks amazing! I didn’t think kids could start school unless they were out of nappies! Good luck with that! Enjoy all those teacher gifts, you deserve them! Have a great week x

    Reply
  8. butwhymummywhy

    Oh man, I know what you mean about the exercise and healthy thing. I’m so up and down with it all at the moment, I just have no willpower! haha
    Have a lovely week xx

    Reply
    1. Alice W Post author

      Likewise, I’ve eaten nearly a whole box of chocolates and plenty of Celebrations today…oops. Hope you have a good week too xx

      Reply

Leave a Reply

