Hairy MacLary

hairy-maclary-lynley-dodd-image

Image source

I love that these books, which I read when I was younger, are still around today! All the children in our class were given a copy of Hairy Maclary from Donaldson’s Dairy at the beginning on the year. Some stories are timeless πŸ™‚

However, this is not a post about a beloved children’s book. No, this is a different Hairy Maclary.

20150605_233122

You might find this photo disgusting or offensive…I’m not sorry though, it’s reality, get over it πŸ™‚

Yes, that’s me. I am a Hairy Maclary. Most women have to deal with some degree of body hair, but some of us get it worse than the rest. From the age of 12, I had noticeably more hair on my legs than my peers, which was also thicker and darker than your average pre-teen. Pretty much from Year 7 I had trackies for PE and my cross country running (although I did sport some rather fetching knee-high socks for a few years, Paula Radcliffe style), and rarely got my legs out. One boy once caught sight of the hair when I wore trainer socks and was sitting cross-legged on the floor – he joked that I was like a spider. Not sure of his logic behind the comment, but it didn’t do much for my self-esteem either way.

As I’ve grown up, I’ve just got on with things. I’ve been getting my legs waxed at the same salon since I was 14, scheduling appointments around events like prom, holidays, or a sleepover. In recent years, I’ve been going every 6 weeks mostly, just to keep the growth in check, otherwise it’s just too painful getting it ripped out. This has worked for the most part, but I still never have much time with hair-free legs. After I (rarely) shave, the dark stubble pokes through a day after. Post-wax will last a little longer, but generally less than a week later, the hairs have regrown enough to make me feel self-conscious.

20150605_233509

In recent months, I took up swimming for a few weeks, even going twice when my legs were hairier than is probably socially acceptable, but after that I couldn’t keep going because of my legs, or rather how I felt about them. They look like a man’s legs once the hair gets past a certain point, so a hobby that I was really enjoying was cut short. This, and discussing living in New Zealand for a year, pushed me toΒ finallyΒ actively pursue a more long-term hair removal option: laser treatment.

Expensive? Yes. Will it be worth it? Well, my Mum has the same leg issues as me and my sisters, and she got the treatment done 10 years ago. According to her, it’s worth it. I’m pretty excited, I’m not gonna lie…here’s me on my way to the first appointment.

20150606_150750I’m excited to share how it goes, hopefully I’ll be going swimming soon πŸ˜€

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

Leave a Reply

