A little bit of baby shopping…

Baby clothes. So soft and snuggly. The prints are nearly always gorgeous and they’re guaranteed to be adorable, especially those teeny weeny ones for ‘tiny’ babies. I love to pause and stroke the little babygros, maybe take a sweet pair of dungarees off the shelf and find a cute t-shirt to match. Thankfully we now have a growing hoard of nieces and nephews who I can buy for, not to mention the constant influx of babies at church (we’ve already had 4 born this year with another 4 due before Christmas…!). Today was one of those days where I let myself get a bit carried away πŸ™‚

Although we normally shop at Lidl or Aldi, I took a trip to big Tesco today as I needed a pair of trousers for school. They didn’t have the pair I wanted, so not wanting to waste the journey, I took a stroll through the children’s section. I stayed for half an hour. It’s a good thing I’ve never discovered one of those high end baby shops…! Tesco prices mean finding a few bits and bobs is kind on the wallet πŸ™‚

20150921_205329

20150921_205312

I loved this print, and found 2 snug little sleepsuits for our newest niece, born in June. The squirrels are so sweet! This little one’s big sister is turning 2 next week (1 week today in fact), so I got 2 for Β£5 with these lovely tops…

20150921_205058

She’s not a particularly girly girl, and these were about as un-girly as I could do without going into the boys section.

On that note, I was really struck by just how girly the girls clothes are. This sounds ridiculous, as they’re girls clothes, obviously, but what about the not-so-girly girl? Here’s a couple of snaps of the girls section (apologies for the blurriness)…

20150921_191702 20150921_191645

Pink, flowery, lacy…generally pretty. All lovely. But just so…girly! There aren’t just bright colours, there’s always something making it ‘for girls’. Thinking there might be more variety in the boys bit, I took a look over there…

20150921_191620

Blues, greens, greys, checked shirts…butΒ very boy looking. Granted, it’s only Tesco, I know brands like Little Bird and others have brighter, more unisex clothing, but I was a bit surprised. Nevertheless, I bought a pair of those green trousers with the bears on for a friends’ little girl – she LOVES bears, so hoping they’ll be a hit.

20150921_205226

That’s all my baby buys for now. Lord help us when the time comes to buy for our own children, how will I be able to resist?!

Leave a Reply

