One more step

One more step along the world I go,
One more step along the world I go,
From the old things to the new,
Keep me travelling along with You.

And it’s from the old I travel to the new,
Keep me travelling along with You.

Don’t you just love rediscovering something old? I can’t remember where I first heard this song, probably on one of those random kids tapes you have or from school assemblies (jazzed up version of the Lord’s prayer, anybody?), but revisiting the lyrics this evening has made me realise that it’s actually kinda great! The whole song is one that I’m going to keep singing to myself, some brilliant words there…

As I travel through the bad and good,
Keep me travelling the way I should,
Where I see no way to go,
You’ll be telling me the way, I know.

Give me courage when the world is rough,
Keep me loving when the world is tough…

Words that will only become more pertinent as time goes on..! If we get as far along with fostering as we’re hoping to, we will need to cling to God more than we ever have done, we will need His grace to love and nurture the kids that come into our home.

The reason this song came to mind was the title I wrote for this post: One more step. We’re one more step along the path of fostering. One more step into the unknown territory that is the future. A tiny step, probably one of many tiny steps that we’ll take, but it’s a step nonetheless.

Having contacted a different local council about fostering with them, they quickly sent out an information pack and left a message on my phone, keen to chat through things. Cue a half hour chat going through standard questions such as, “What’s your ethnicity?”, and more specific questions like, “Why do you want to foster?” and “What age children would you be willing to foster?”. My favourite – “How would you describe your relationship?”…friends did warn us that it’s like having a therapist when the social workers begin their interviews..!

It was exciting, exhilarating, even. It finally feels a little bitΒ real. We may only be taking tentative steps, but hooray!

And it’s from the old I travel to the new,
Keep me travelling along with You.

Leave a Reply

