#stereotypicalnewyearsresolution

My only concrete resolution for this year is so get fit. More specifically, to get fit using Kayla Itsines Bikini Body Guide.

Bikini Body…ergh, not something I’ve ever really ascribed or aspired to. Partly because I sort of was alright enough in the tummy department (not flat, I have the usual bulge at the bottom – something I’ve had since early teenage years), but also the fact that I have no real desire to don a bikini. Throw into the mix watching someone I love struggle with anorexia, I wasΒ notΒ going to set up some ridiculous ideal for my body to attain when it may just not be how I’m ever going to look. I’m definitely of the philosophy that all bodies are different, and as long as you can love yourself, you’re doing just fine.

Nothing has changed in my desire for a ‘bikini’ body, but I’m going with this particular guide because…well, because it seems to have done some pretty amazing things for lots of women. It seems to be about getting fit and strong, and that being a lifestyle change rather than a ‘how-to-get-a-flat-stomach’ type thing.

I really want to be fit and strong. Although I used to do a lot of running, I’ve never worked on my upper body in my life, and I’m interested to see if my physical shape will change at all. I’ve pretty much looked and weighed the same since my mid-late teens, regardless of how much exercise I did, so I’d kind of accepted that this is just how I am. However, that high metabolism won’t last forever, and I’ve noticed that I’ve put on about half a stone in the last 6 months or so. My tummy’s maybe a bit podgier than before, and my thighs might have expanded a little. It’s not a lot of weight really, but when you’re 5’1″, a few pounds can be the difference between ‘healthy’ and ‘overweight’.

I wouldn’t say I’m overweight, or massively unfit, but I still want to make a change in this regard. I’d like to tone up, and I know the number on the scales may not change, but that doesn’t bother me. I’m curvy and a bit on the stocky side, but I’d rather be stocky with muscle than chocolate chub πŸ˜‰ I’ve been out of running for coming up to 2 years now because of injury, and even though I started the couch to 5K last summer, I slacked off with my physio exercises, so running became a no-go area. This guide has sessions of low intensity stuff like gentle cycling/swimming/running, but also proper workouts. Legs & cardio, arms & abs, full body…I can’t even do one sit up, so it could be interesting..!

The guide that I’ve bought (only Β£11.82 as a book on Amazon or Google Play) has a pre-training section, which is a 4 week intro to the style of workouts, followed by 12 weeks of proper training. It’s intense, involves exercise pretty much every day, but has the potential to change my lifestyle for the better. I’ve even got my hubby involved in the arms workout, so hopefully he’ll benefit too πŸ™‚

As part of the Kayla Itsines movement kind of thing (seriously, she’s like some kind of celebrity, people do like #kaylasarmy and everything..) there’s also a whole big thing about eating, and there’s a food guide you can buy as well, but I’m not sure I’d make use of that. Food really is my downfall, I could probably lose weight if I just ate less chocolate, cake and biscuits, but there are plenty of healthy recipes around to help make those changes. To be honest though, it might be a couple of weeks before we think about changing our eating habits – too many sweet things to get through in the house first!

So there we have a sort of ‘here we go’ post. I’m pondering whether or not to track my progress somewhat..week by week might be a bit much, so maybe in a month we’ll see if I’ve actually stuck with it…not something I’m famous for. Here’s to a new routine that actually sticks!

2 thoughts on “#stereotypicalnewyearsresolution

Leave a Reply

